International Particle Physics Outreach Group
Participating Institutes
South Africa
Cape Town

University of Cape Town


University of Cape Town
Address University of Cape Town
Rondebosch, 7701
Cape Town, South Africa
Phone +27 21 650 3326
Research and Teaching

The University of Cape Town (UCT), located in Cape Town, is South Africa's oldest university. Founded in 1829, the unversity now has approximately 25,000 students enrolled in its six faculties; Commerce, Engineering, Health Sciences, Humanities, Law, and Science.

The UCT Department of Physics has 17 academic staff with research groups in experimental and theoretical particle physics, nuclear physics, applied physics, nanosciences, and physics education. The experimental partical physics group participates in the ATLAS and ALICE experiments at CERN as part of the SA-CERN consortium.

The teaching program in the Department of Phyiscs includes a three year Bachelors degree, a four year Honours Bachelors degree, Masters, and Doctoral degree programs. The department graduates approximately 15-20 Bachelors degrees per year and has approximately 40 post-graduate students.

The outreach program in the UCT Department of Physics includes running the International Masterclass and "Phenomenal Physics" days for high school learners, as well as participating in the Science Faculty "Science Day", and the UCT "Open Day".
Links and Downloads
Legal Notice


Legal Notice